search button

IS-1112: Introduction to Flood Claims

Adjuster Authorization Note: In 2016, FEMA issued WYO Bulletin w-16005, which introduced EMI Independent Study Program courses for claims adjusters. The option to take the Independent Study Program courses to satisfy part of the requirements for obtaining NFIP authorization was offered temporarily due to the reduced number of NFIP Claims Presentations in 2016. For 2017, however, FEMA significantly increased the number of Claims Presentations. Therefore, flood adjusters must attend one of the onsite presentations in order to receive their authorization for 2017. It is important to note that the EMI online courses CANNOT be used to accomplish the adjuster authorization requirements for 2017 or for maintaining the Flood Control Number (FCN).

PLEASE NOTE: These courses are NOT approved for continuing education (CE) credit by any State Department of Insurance.

Upon successfully passing the exam, you will receive a Certificate of Achievement noting CE earned through the International Association for Continuing Education & Training (IACET). Each hour of instruction completed earns 0.1 CE Unit through IACET (.1 CE Unit = one CE). If you are taking a FEMA EMI Independent Study course in order to earn CE, be sure to confirm in advance that your professional board or other preferred entity will accept IACET CE. You can also check IACET's website for a list of entities that accept IACET CE at Who Recognizes IACET Accreditation? - IACET. FEMA accepts IACETs.

Course Date


Course Overview

During an active storm season, NFIP flood-certified adjusters can be in high demand to assist property owners with claims that meet the general condition of flood. This course is designed to introduce adjusters to the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). The first lesson reviews the necessary qualifications and process to become a flood adjuster and the resources available to help adjusters learn what they need to know to become flood certified. The second lesson discusses the history and organization of the NFIP, provides an overview of the Standard Flood Insurance Policy (SFIP) and use of its three forms, and defines key terms and concepts that flood claims adjusters must know in order to accurately handle flood claims.

Course Objectives:

  • Describe the NFIP Adjuster Database and the entities that use flood certified adjusters
  • Describe the necessary qualifications of a flood certified adjuster
  • Explain the process for becoming a flood certified adjuster
  • Discuss the five areas of authorization for an adjuster
  • Identify adjuster resources and links to FEMA resource pages
  • Discuss the history and organization of the NFIP
  • Define key NFIP terms: participating community, pre-FIRM and post-FIRM, flood, mudflow, and SFHAs and non-SFHAs
  • Differentiate between residential and non-residential buildings as relevant to the SFIP
  • Explain replacement cost loss settlement criteria
  • Explain what each of the SFIP forms covers
  • Define key building definitions: elevated building, enclosure, breakaway wall, and basement

Primary Audience

Insurance Adjusters (new and certified)





Course Length:

2 hours
Take This Course
Take Final Exam
  • Test questions are scrambled to protect test integrity
Back to Top